Dr Dennis LITTKY

Co-founder and Co-director, Big Picture Company, The Met School and College Unbound

Dr Dennis LITTKY is the co-founder and co-director of The Met School, Big Picture Learning and founder and President of College Unbound. He is nationally known for his extensive work in secondary education in urban, suburban, and rural settings, spanning over 40 years. As an educator, Dennis has a reputation for working up against the edge of convention and out of the box, turning tradition on its head and delivering concrete results. From 2000-2010 The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation gave Big Picture Learning 20 million dollars to replicate The Met School nationally and internationally. Currently there is a network of 113 schools, 52 across the country, 40 in Australia and 21 in the Netherlands.

Dr LITTKY holds a double Ph.D. in psychology and education from the University of Michigan. His work as a principal at Thayer Junior/Senior High School in Winchester, N.H. is featured in an NBC movie, A Town Torn Apart based on the book Doc: The Story of Dennis LITTKY and His Fight for a Better School. In 2004, he wrote (along with Samantha Grabelle) The Big Picture: Education is Everyone’ s Business, which went on to win the Association of Educational Publishers’ top award for nonfiction in 2005. In 2003, Dennis was recognized as a leader in education and awarded the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education. Fast Company ranked LITTKY #4 among the top 50 Innovators of 2004, and the George Lucas Educational Foundation recently selected Dennis as part of their Daring Dozen. Dennis was awarded the New England Higher Education Excellence Award in 2011.

Presently, Dr LITTKY’ s focus is on College Unbound, a college that allows adults to earn a Bachelor’ s degree while creating a project around their interest and working full-time. The innovative college is rethinking how we educate the 37 million adults, who started college but didn’t finish.

previous arrow
next arrow

Professor Anant AGARWAL

Yidan Prize for Education Development Laureate 2018; Founder and CEO, edX


CEO & Co-founder of EM

The Rt Hon Gordon BROWN

UN Special Envoy for Global Education; Former Prime Minister and Chancellor of the Exchequer

Mr Ronnie C. CHAN

Chairman, Hang Lung Properties Limited

Mr Arnold CHAN

Founder and CEO of non-profit Teach4HK

Dr. Charles CHEN Yidan

Founder, the Yidan Prize

Mr CHI Yufeng

Founder and Chairman of Hongen Education and Technology Co., Founder and Chairman of Perfect World Group

Ms Peggy CHOI

Founder and CEO of knowledge-sharing platform Lynk

Mr. Simon COX

Emerging Markets Editor at The Economist

Dr Jacob (Yaki) DAYAN

Founder & CEO, EdTech Israel

Ms Yaneth GIHA

Former Minister of Education, Colombia


China President, HTC

Professor Larry HEDGES

Chair of the Department of Statistics, Northwestern University


Co-founder and CEO of ed-tech company Xcelerate

Dr. Julian HUPPERT

Director, Intellectual Forum, Jesus College, Cambridge

HRH Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands

Mr Clive LEE

Chief Executive Officer, Yidan Prize Foundation

Mr Peter LEWIS

Presenter of "Money Talk", RTHK Radio 3

Mrs Graça MACHEL

Child Rights Advocate and Humanitarian

Ms Margaret McCABE

CEO and Founder of Debate Mate

Professor Sugata MITRA

Professor, Educational Technology; Pioneer, "Hole in the Wall" experiment

Dr NG Pak Tee

Author, Learning from Singapore: The Power of Paradoxes; Member, the Global Education Innovation (GEI) Lab

Minister Naledi PANDOR

South Africa's Minister of Higher Education & Training


Educator, popular speaker and author; Expert on "Constructive Struggling"

Dr Stephen D SMITH

Finci-Viterbi Endowed Executive Director of the USC Shoah Foundation

Ms Isabella STEGER

Senior Reporter at Quartz


CEO, Micro:bit Educational Foundation


Impact investor and social entrepreneur

Mr Terry VIRTS

NASA Astronaut and Author of View From Above


Senior Editor-Special Projects Forbes Asia


Chief Executive, Teacher Development Trust; Expert on "Lesson Study"


Editor, Generation T Asia